Sinhala (Sri Lanka)Tamil (Sri Lanka)


    Font size
  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size

CA Sri Lanka seminar focuses on recent tax amendments

The recent tax amendments were given centre stage at a specialized seminar on taxation organized by the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka (CA Sri Lanka) together with its Faculty of Taxation.

The highly informative seminar saw detailed presentations from well versed tax experts including Commissioner General of the Department of Inland Revenue, Ms. Mallika Samarasekara who delivered the keynote speech at the well-attended event held at the CA Sri Lanka Auditorium in Colombo 7.

In three separate presentations, Deputy Commissioner General of Inland Revenue Department, Mr. H. B. A. Seneviratne gave a detailed overview on the Economic Service Charge (ESC) and Income Tax and the recent amendments implemented.

Senior Commissioner of the Department, Mr. A. L. A. Sirisena stressed in detail on the very topical Nation Building Tax (NBT) and the recent amendments brought in this year including the areas where the tax is excluded.

The department’s Commissioner, Mr. J. P. D. R. Jayasekara while emphasizing on the Value Added Tax (VAT) Act, also detailed the recent amendments implemented following the 2012 Budget.

Senior Tax Advisor of the Ministry of Finance and Planning, Ms. Dammika Gunathilaka, Ms. L C Nanayakkara (Partner – Tax, Ernst & Young), Mr. N R Gajendran – (Chairman of Faculty of Taxation), Mr. A. L. A. Sirisena, Mr. J. P. D. R. Jayasekara, Mr. H. B. A. Seneviratne  were featured as  panelists at the seminar.

In keeping with its role to edify the country’s professionals and members of the public on taxation related matters, the CA Sri Lanka Faculty of Taxation organized this seminar addressing three contemporary tax topics at a single podium for the benefit of professionals and members of the public giving them the opportunity to learn the benefits of these new amendments while also giving them an opportunity to address their concerns to the respective officials.